Joining a Committee

The Town of Okotoks encourages residents to get involved in the community by participating on one of Council's Boards, Committees, Commissions, or Task Forces.

The time requirement as a board or committee member varies based on the board - some meet twice a month while others only meet as required. The length of each meeting can also vary significantly.  Appointment terms range from 1 to 3 years; youth positions are generally one year (school term). 

Your attendance at meetings is important—when considering a board to apply for, please ensure it is one that will fit your schedule. You will be expected to participate in the meetings by offering views and voting.  To ensure that confidentiality and ethical standards are maintained, citizens appointed to a board, committee, commission, or task force will be required to sign the Town of Okotoks Code of Conduct.  

Council considers citizen appointments to boards and committees on an annual basis in the fall; however, vacancies also occasionally arise during the year.  Annual appointments and vacancies are advertised in the local paper and posted on this website.  

Get Involved…It’s Your Town!

There is a vacancy on the United Way/Okotoks Partnership Committee.

The purpose of this Committee is to sustain a partnership with the United Way of Calgary and area to oversee a community fundraising campaign, and to distribute United Way funding to eligible organizations serving residents of Okotoks and surrounding area according to identified community priorities.  This Committee meets the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m.  

Apply below before January 23, 2022:  


Or, provide a resume and letter and drop-off at the Municipal Centre, 5 Elizabeth Street; mail to the Town of Okotoks, Box 20, Station Main, Okotoks, AB T1S 1K1; or email Legislative Services.  Citizens appointed to a board, committee, commission will be required to sign the Town of Okotoks Code of Conduct.

Deadline for applications is January 23, 2022.

For more information contact the Legislative Services Administrator at 403-995-2784.