Late Mayor Robertson and Former Councillor Sands Honoured at AUMA


Mayor Bill Robertson Councillor Ed Sands

The Town of Okotoks is very proud to announce that late Mayor Bill Robertson and former Councillor Ed Sands, both long-time members of Okotoks Town Council, were honoured with the prestigious Alberta Urban Municipalities Association (AUMA) Distinguished Service Award.

This award recognizes elected officials who have served their municipalities for 20 or more years and was presented at a special ceremony last night at the AUMA convention in Edmonton.

“On behalf of Okotoks Town Council and administration, I extend sincere thanks to the family of Mayor Bill Robertson and to Councillor Ed Sands and his family for all that these two extraordinary individuals have done for this community and for the tireless commitment and dedication they demonstrated. Congratulations on this well-deserved recognition,” said Mayor of Okotoks, Tanya Thorn.

Mayor Bill Robertson served as a Councillor for the Town of Okotoks for 15 years and then as Mayor for 11 years; Ed Sands served as a Town Councillor for 26 years.

During their tenure, Okotoks grew from a small town of less than 10,000 to almost 30,000 people and experienced significant changes. 

Some major milestones during their time on Council included the construction of Drake Landing, which was the first solar community in North America, the opening of the Dawgs Stadium, the expansion of the Pason Arenas, regional partnerships with Foothills County including the shared Regional Fieldhouse, Champion Park and, most recently, working on a supplemental water solution.

They were part of making policy change with the implementation of the new Municipal Development Plan and Land Use Bylaw and also paved the way for the continuation of social change, diversity and inclusivity in Okotoks.