About Town Council

Okotoks Town Council consists of a Mayor and six Councillors. The Mayor and Council represent the Town as a whole as Okotoks is not divided into wards. The current Council was elected on October 16, 2017 for a term of four years. The Mayor is the Chief Elected Official of the municipality and has the duties of both Councillor and Chief Elected Official. A Deputy Mayor rotation schedule is established by Council for each Member of Council to serve in this role. 

What Does Council Do?

Council is responsible for establishing corporate policy and setting strategic priorities. The Province of Alberta, through legislation, sets out the powers of municipal governments through the Municipal Government Act.

  • To consider the welfare and interests of the municipality as a whole and to bring to Council’s attention anything that would promote the welfare and interests of the municipality
  • To participate in developing and evaluating the policies and programs of the municipality
  • To participate in Council meetings, Council committee meetings and meetings of other bodies to which they are appointed by Council
  • To obtain information about the operation and administration of the municipality
  • To keep in confidence matters discussed in private at a Council or Council committee meeting until discussed at a meeting held in public
  • To perform any other duty or function imposed on Councillors by the Municipal Government Act or by the Council. 
Code of Conduct for Members of Council and Council Committees
Okotoks Municipal Centre & Council Chambers
Sun: Closed
Mon - Fri: 8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Sat: Closed
Services will continue to be available to the public by phone, email, or online until further notice due to COVID-19.